Foundific

Doctor salary in Singapore

What general practitioners, physicians and dentists earn in MOM's survey, and the large part of medicine it does not reach.

SingaporeMOM wages · June 2025MOE graduate survey 2025S$ per month, before bonusUpdated 16 Oct 2026
At a glance

Doctor salary in Singapore

  • General practitioner or physician: S$7,165 median a month. Middle 50% earn S$6,553 to S$10,449.
  • Pay by age: S$6,707 at age 25 to 29, S$17,048 at 50 to 59.
  • Medicine graduates: S$6,500 median at NUS and NTU, one year after graduating.
  • Read with care: MOM covers employees of private-sector firms with 25 or more staff. Self-employed doctors are left out, and MOM does not say whether public healthcare clusters are included.
How does your pay compare?MOM figures, June 2025. Nothing you type leaves your browser.
Part 1 · Pay today

How much do doctors earn?

A general practitioner or physician earns S$7,165 at the median. Internal medicine physicians earn S$1,718 more. Dentists in the survey earn S$5,007 to S$5,104.

Gross monthly wage, June 2025, all industries.

Occupation, all industriesBasic wage, medianGross, 25th pctGross, medianGross, 75th pct
Diagnostic radiologistLimited detail20,00010,84920,00030,000
Health services managerPartial detail8,6436,5008,70912,799
Internal medicine physicianLimited detail7,8777,0688,88310,709
General practitioner/PhysicianFull detail7,1286,5537,16510,449
Specialised dentistLimited detail5,0594,7025,1045,515
General dental practitionerLimited detail4,9844,9375,0075,409
Source: MOM Occupational Wages 2025, Table 4. Full-time resident employees, June 2025.
Cell referencesT4!C118:I118, T4!C31:I31, T4!C159:I159, T4!C143:I143, T4!C215:I215, T4!C142:I142
What it means
  • One code covers many doctors. "General practitioner/physician" spans junior medical officers to senior doctors, so its range is wide: S$3,896 between the 25th and 75th percentile.
  • Radiologist figure: Its median jumped to S$20,000 in 2025 from S$7,016 a year earlier, which points to a small and changing sample.
  • Dentist figures look low, likely because the survey only reaches dentists employed by larger firms, not practice owners.

Starting salary for medicine and dentistry graduates

Medicine graduates earn S$6,500 at the median one year after graduating, once housemanship is done. Dentistry graduates start at S$4,550.

Graduates in full-time permanent jobs. Medicine figures are for the class of 2024, surveyed one year after graduating.

University and programmeBasic, medianGross, medianGross, meanGross, middle 50%
NUS, Medicine (MBBS)5,0506,5006,3446,000 to 6,930
NTU, Medicine (LKCMedicine)5,0506,5006,5516,000 to 7,000
NUS, Dental Surgery4,5504,5504,5954,500 to 4,597
Full-time permanent jobs only, as at 1 November 2025. Source: MOE GES 2025 (NTU, NUS).
What it means
  • NUS and NTU medicine pay the same S$6,500 median, a sign of a common public-sector pay scale for junior doctors.
  • Low response rates: 22% for NUS medicine and 46% for NTU, so treat these as indicative.
  • Training time: five years of study, then a year of housemanship, before the survey takes place.
Job outcomes for medicine and dentistry graduatesEvery responding medicine and dentistry graduate was in a full-time permanent job.

Every responding medicine and dentistry graduate was in a full-time permanent job.

Share of graduates in the labour force.

ProgrammeCourse response rateCurrently employedIn full-time permanent employment
NUS, Medicine (MBBS)22%100.0%100.0%
NTU, Medicine (LKCMedicine)46%100.0%100.0%
NUS, Dental Surgery51%100.0%100.0%
Share of graduates in the labour force. Source: MOE GES 2025.
  • Medical and dental graduates go straight into structured training posts, so employment rates are 100%.
Part 2 · Who earns more

How pay changes with age

Doctor pay jumps in the forties: S$14,550 at 40 to 49, against S$7,979 at 30 to 39.

Median gross monthly wage by age group.

GP / physicianHealth services manager
04,5009,00013,50018,00025–296,707Health services manager: suppressed in source30–397,9797,52540–4914,5509,43950–5917,04811,180
Median gross monthly wage (S$) by age group, June 2025. Source: MOM, Occupational Wages 2025, Table 3, all establishments.
Occupation25–2930–3940–4950–59
General practitioner/Physician6,7077,97914,55017,048
Internal medicine physician7,069–––
Health services manager–7,5259,43911,180
Median gross monthly wage, S$. "–" = suppressed by MOM. Source: MOM Occupational Wages 2025, Table 3.
Cell referencesT3!C125:K125, T3!C138:K138, T3!C29:K29
What it means
  • Age 40 to 49: The median rises 82.4% from the thirties, as doctors reach consultant and senior roles.
  • Highest at 50 to 59: S$17,048, about 2.5 times the 25 to 29 median.
  • How to read it: each age band shows different doctors in June 2025. It does not follow the same doctors over time.
By sex and employer sizeMale GPs and physicians earn S$7,409 at the median, female S$6,930. Smaller employers pay S$1,693 more than large ones.

Male GPs and physicians earn S$7,409 at the median, female S$6,930. Smaller employers pay S$1,693 more than large ones.

OccupationAll, median grossMenWomenWomen vs men
General practitioner/Physician7,1657,4096,930-6.5%
Internal medicine physician8,883–9,262–
Diagnostic radiologist20,00020,000––
General dental practitioner5,007–4,972–
Specialised dentist5,1045,7294,702-17.9%
Health services manager8,70910,1098,184-19.0%
Median gross monthly wage, S$. Two group medians, not an adjusted pay gap. Source: MOM Occupational Wages 2025, Tables 1.1 and 1.2.
Cell referencesT1.1!C124:E124, T1.2!C129:E129, T1.2!C141:E141, T1.1!C107:E107, T1.2!C128:E128, T1.1!C188:E188, T1.2!C184:E184, T1.1!C30:E30, T1.2!C31:E31
OccupationFirms with 25 to 199 employeesFirms with 200 or moreLarge vs small
General practitioner/Physician8,8377,144-19.2%
Internal medicine physician–9,362–
Diagnostic radiologist–20,000–
General dental practitioner–4,972–
Specialised dentist–5,115–
Health services manager7,7759,010+15.9%
Median gross monthly wage, S$. Source: MOM Occupational Wages 2025, Table 2.
Cell referencesT2!C143:G143, T2!C156:G156, T2!C118:G118, T2!C142:G142, T2!C208:G208, T2!C32:G32
What it means
  • Smaller employers pay more at the median, S$8,837 against S$7,144. Large employers likely hold more junior doctors.
  • These compare two groups. They are not an adjusted pay gap.

By employer industry

Doctors employed in health and social services earn S$15,001 at the median, S$7,836 more than the all-industry figure.

MOM publishes a separate figure for one industry only.

Employer industryMedian gross wageGross wage, middle 50%
Health and Social Services15,00110,491 to 20,000
General practitioner/Physician (SSOC 22110). Source: MOM Occupational Wages 2025, Tables 4.1 to 4.14. No figure published for the other 13 industries.
Cell referencesT4.12!C36:I36
  • Other industries: MOM does not publish the other industries for this job, so we cannot say where the lower-paid doctors in the all-industry figure work.
  • If you work in a hospital or clinic group, the health and social services figure is the closer comparison.
Part 3 · Over time

Pay over time and 2026 outlook

The doctor median fell from S$12,373 in 2020 to S$6,127 in 2022, then recovered to S$7,165. The likely reason is a change in who the survey covered.

Official medians for the last six years, then a projection for June 2026.

Occupation202020212022202320242025Trend
General practitioner/Physician12,37310,2116,1276,7096,3357,165
Internal medicine physician–––6,3756,3918,883
Diagnostic radiologist––8,3618,8327,01620,000
General dental practitioner–––4,8545,1635,007
Specialised dentist–5,587–4,117–5,104
Health services manager7,4947,5798,7967,6389,8398,709
Median gross monthly wage, June of each year, S$. "–" = not published, or the job code changed in a way that cannot be linked one-to-one. Earlier years use SSOC 2020 codes, linked to SSOC 2024 with SingStat's official correspondence table. MOM advises that single-year changes are noisy because the survey is a sample; look at the direction over several years. Source: MOM Occupational Wages 2020 to 2025, Table 4.

June 2026 projection Estimate

OccupationJune 2025 (MOM)June 2026 projection80% rangeRange
General practitioner/Physician7,165Not projected: too volatile
Internal medicine physician8,883Not projected: too volatile
Diagnostic radiologist20,000Not projected: too volatile
General dental practitioner5,007Not projected: too volatile
Specialised dentist5,104Not projected: not enough history
Health services manager8,709Not projected: too volatile
Foundific projection v1, not official data. Central estimate = average of the last two MOM medians + economy-wide wage growth (3.73% a year, from MOM median income and the MAS inflation forecast). Tested on 2025: typical error 8.1%; 78.7% of actual values fell inside the 80% range. How the projection works.
What it means
  • Survey coverage: MOM covered 360 GPs and physicians in 2020 and 1,673 in 2022, so the later medians include many more junior doctors.
  • No projection: doctor pay in this survey swings too much from year to year for a useful 2026 range.
  • Compare like with like: use the same year and the same age band, not the trend line.
Part 4 · AI impact

Is medicine affected by AI?

The ILO rates both doctors and dentists Not exposed. Examining, treating and operating score lowest. Research, records and reporting score highest.

Based on the International Labour Organization's 2025 index, which scores every core task of a job from 0 (AI cannot help) to 1 (AI could do nearly all of it).

General practitioner/Physician
Not exposedAI exposure
Not exposedVery high

AI can do very little of this job. Most tasks are hands-on or face to face.

  • Most exposed taskConducting research in human health and medical services…
  • Least exposed taskPerforming surgery and other clinical procedures
  • In numbersNone of its 11 main tasks is one AI could do a large part of.
General dental practitioner
Not exposedAI exposure
Not exposedVery high

AI can do very little of this job. Most tasks are hands-on or face to face.

  • Most exposed taskSupervising dental hygienists, dental assistants
  • Least exposed taskAdministering anaesthetics
  • In numbersNone of its 12 main tasks is one AI could do a large part of.
General practitioner/PhysicianSSOC 22110
Not exposedexposure to generative AI
  1. Not exposed
  2. Minimal
  3. Some
  4. Moderate
  5. High
  6. Very high

Scored as ILO group 2211 Generalist medical practitioners. Average task score 0.29, higher than 54% of the 427 jobs the ILO scored.

General dental practitionerSSOC 22611
Not exposedexposure to generative AI
  1. Not exposed
  2. Minimal
  3. Some
  4. Moderate
  5. High
  6. Very high

Scored as ILO group 2261 Dentists. Average task score 0.15, higher than 17% of the 427 jobs the ILO scored.

Eight factors, role by role
FactorGeneral practitioner/PhysicianGeneral dental practitioner
1Exposure levelThe ILO's rating for the whole job, from not exposed up to very high.Not exposedNot exposed
2Average task scoreHow much of each core task generative AI could do, averaged. 0 means none, 1 means nearly all.0.29 higher than 54% of jobs0.15 higher than 17% of jobs
3Tasks AI could do much ofTasks scoring 0.5 or more. These are the parts of the job most likely to change.0 of 110 of 12
4Hands-on or people tasksTasks scoring under 0.25: physical, in-person or judgement work that AI barely touches.4 of 1110 of 12
5How even the exposure isEven means AI touches most tasks a little. Uneven means a few tasks are exposed and the rest are not.Mixed (0.10)Even (0.06)
6Most exposed taskWhere AI tools are likely to show up first.Conducting research in human health and medical services… 0.48Supervising dental hygienists, dental assistants and other… 0.27
7Least exposed taskThe task AI can help with least.Performing surgery and other clinical procedures 0.13Administering anaesthetics to limit the amount of pain… 0.07
8Pay trend so farChange in the MOM median since the first year on record. Any AI effect would show here in later years.-42% S$12,373 (2020) to S$7,165 (2025)+3% S$4,854 (2023) to S$5,007 (2025)
Most and least exposed tasks
General practitioner/Physician
Most exposed tasks
  • 0.48Conducting research in human health and medical services and disseminating…
  • 0.37Reporting births, deaths and notifiable diseases to government authorities to…
  • 0.35Recording patients' medical information and history and exchanging…
Least exposed tasks
  • 0.13Performing surgery and other clinical procedures
  • 0.15Conducting physical examinations of patients and interviewing them and their…
  • 0.21Providing continuing medical care for patients including prescribing…
General dental practitioner
Most exposed tasks
  • 0.27Supervising dental hygienists, dental assistants and other staff
  • 0.26Educating patients and families on dental hygiene, nutrition and other…
  • 0.20Assisting in diagnosing general diseases having oral manifestations such as…
Least exposed tasks
  • 0.07Administering anaesthetics to limit the amount of pain experienced by…
  • 0.10Providing restorative oral care such as implants, complex crown and bridge…
  • 0.10Measuring and taking impressions of patients' jaws and teeth in order to…
Compared with our other guides
Source: ILO Working Paper 140, Generative AI and Jobs: A Refined Global Index of Occupational Exposure (Gmyrek et al., 2025), CC BY 4.0. Singapore jobs matched to ILO groups with the SingStat SSOC 2024 to ISCO-08 correspondence table. Pay: MOM Occupational Wages. The ILO scores international job groups, not Singapore titles. How we read the AI scores.
Cell referencesSSOC 22110 to ISCO 2211 (SSOC2024-ISCO08!B193); SSOC 22611 to ISCO 2261 (SSOC2024-ISCO08!B226)
What it means for medicine
  • Most exposed tasks: Research, statutory reporting and medical records score 0.35 to 0.48 for doctors.
  • Least exposed tasks: Physical examinations and surgery score 0.15 and 0.13.
  • Dentistry is among the least exposed jobs: no dental task scores above 0.27.
  • What exposure measures: how much of the work AI could do or speed up. It does not measure job cuts. Employers decide how to use AI.
Part 5 · Using the figures

Which figure should you compare with?

Use your age band and employer type, not the all-ages median.

You areCompare withFigure
Choosing medicine as a courseMedicine median, one year after graduatingS$6,500
Junior doctorGP / physician, age 25 to 29S$6,707
Doctor in your thirtiesGP / physician, age 30 to 39S$7,979
Senior doctorGP / physician, age 40 to 59S$14,550 to S$17,048
Doctor in a hospital or clinic groupHealth and social services figureS$15,001
Doctor in a public hospitalUse with care; MOM does not state whether public clusters are includedUnclear
Self-employed or practice ownerNot covered by MOM's surveyNone

About these figures

What the pay figures includeMonthly gross pay with allowances and overtime, without bonuses or employer CPF

Every figure is monthly, includes allowances and overtime, and excludes bonuses and employer CPF.

MeasureIncludesExcludes
Basic wageBasic payAllowances, overtime, bonus, employer CPF
Gross wageBasic + on-call and other allowances + overtimeBonus, employer CPF, lump sums
Graduate salarySame as gross, full-time permanent jobs onlyBonus, employer CPF
  • S$7,165 × 12 = S$85,980 a year before bonus. It is not a total package.
What this data does not coverMuch of medicine sits outside MOM's survey, so treat these figures as a private-sector employee reference.

Much of medicine sits outside MOM's survey, so treat these figures as a private-sector employee reference.

  • Public healthcare: MOM surveys private-sector employers with 25 or more staff and does not state whether public healthcare clusters are included.
  • Self-employed doctors and clinic partners are not employees, so they are not counted.
  • Small clinics with fewer than 25 staff are outside the survey.
  • Specialties: MOM publishes only a few specialist titles, so most specialties have no figure.
  • Bonuses: excluded from every figure.

Sources

MOM Occupational Wages 2025 and MOE Graduate Employment Survey 2025
  1. MOM, Occupational Wages 2025, Tables 1 to 4. June 2025, released 30 June 2026. SSOC 22110, 22124, 22142, 22611, 22612, 13420. Exact cells are listed under each table.
  2. MOE, NUS GES 2025. Medicine (MBBS) and Dental Surgery rows, and footnote 9 on the one-year follow-up survey.
  3. MOE, NTU GES 2025. Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine row and footnote 15.
  4. MOM, Coverage and Methodology 2025.